State of Play

State of Play

West Africa – European Union negotiations of an Economic Partnership Agreement (EPA) were concluded on 30 June 2014 with the initialing of an agreed text by Chief Negotiators.

In July 2014, the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS) Heads of State endorsed the EPA and opened it up for signature by Member States. To date, 13 out of 16 West African States have signed the Agreement. Only The Gambia, Nigeria and Mauritania have not yet signed.

The regional agreement covers trade in goods and development-cooperation. It contains a rendezvous clauses for future negotiations on trade in services and other trade-related issues.

Status of EPA. May 2016

WA- EU EPA Main Text